Hundreds attend prestigious event celebrating sport at the University

The annual Sports Awards allow the Students’ Union and Department of Sport and Recreation to recognise students who have shown commitment to improving sport at Portsmouth over the past year.


Marcus Campopiano and Paul Tilley opening the awards ceremony

Hundreds of students filled Portsmouth Guildhall to celebrate this year’s sporting achievements at the University of Portsmouth.
Nominees included clubs and students who have shown an incredible amount of hard work and dedication to sport at the University of Portsmouth in 2018.
Hosts for the evening were VP Sports Marcus Campopiano and head of Sport and Recreation at the University, Paul Tilley.
Guest speaker from INEOS Team GB, Head of Human Performance Ben WIlliams, gave a passionate speech on his journey in elite sport, just as attendees are set to start their own.
On the night, Marcus commented: “The Sports Awards marks a special day in the Team Pompey calendar. It is always great to see hard working individuals of the Athletic Union and the University come together, celebrating their successes. It was a fantastic night and thank you to all the committee members, the Students’ Union plus Sport and Recreation for making the night so memorable.”


Half Colours

This award recognises those who have shown dedication, commitment or performance to a Club, Team, or as an individual.


Patrick Haynes (Athletics)
Jay Sherring (Pole Dance)
Jesie Dyos (Swim)
Iestyn Williams (Lacrosse)
Jason Gower (Rugby)
Michael Stones (Boxing)
Sophie Brace (Cheerleading)
Caitlin Giddins-Byrne (Equestrian)
Cameron Hunter (Rugby)
Mychaell Da Silva (Futsal)
Charlotte Beaney (Hockey)

Full Colours

This award recognises those who have shown outstanding service or performance to a Club, Team, or as an individual.


Georgia Campbell-Turner (Women’s Football)
Alex Gould (Cycling)
Antony Lewendon (Boxing)
Chloe Tomsett (Swim)
Dominic Norton (Tennis)
Emmeline Jones (Kickboxing)
George Hibberd (Men’s Rugby)
Helena Ring (Volleyball)
Jason Selormey (American Football)
Luke Bellars (Cricket)
Matthew Dwornik (Gym and Tramp)
Megan Taylor (Netball)
Michael Wakelyn-Green (Ultimate Frisbee)
Richard Soons (Ski and Snow)
Tom Knifton-Smith (Men’s Football)

Sporting Excellence Award

This award recognises an individual for their ability and performance competing in the Athletic Union, as well as their commitment to their club.


Benjamin Meyers (Men’s American Football)
Callum Gregg (Gym and Tramp)
Jim Storey (Men’s Rugby)
Omar Barry (Boxing)
Regan Derham (Cricket)
Tom Holmes (Ski and Snow)


This award is given to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding performance or exceptional ability through participation as part of a Club, Team or as an Individual.


Josh Awcock (Ultimate Frisbee)
Kanisha Vincent (Women’s Rugby)

Contribution to the Community

This award recognises and celebrates the work and commitment our coaches and volunteers give to the local community, sports clubs and schools, giving young people the opportunity to be active in sport.


George Davis (U13’s Head Football Coach)

Official of the Year

This award recognises exceptional commitment and performance of a referee who delivers internally on the Campus Sport programme, and externally within the community.


Chris Newman (Football Referee)

Coach of the Year

This award recognises an individual who coaches within one of our sports and community programmes, who are committed to delivering regular, quality sessions, and dedicated to their own personal development.


Aaron Tasker (Community Football Coach)

Volunteer of the Year

This award recognises a volunteer within Sport and Recreation that has committed their personal time to engage students or the community in sport.


Zac Davy-Taylor (Community Football Coach)

Activator of the Year

This award recognises an Activator who coordinates a Campus Sport league or Get Active, Stay Active session to a high standard whilst also contributing to the development of their particular sport.


Amelia Grubb (Netball Activator)

Sports Personality

This award recognises a student who has contributed significantly to the Athletic Union and embodies the values we strive to uphold


Tom Knifton-Smith (Men’s Football President)

Unsung Hero Award

This award recognises and rewards individuals who do not hold committee positions, yet have been critical to the success or development of an Athletic Union club.


James Henriet (Rugby)

Sportsmanship Award

This award recognises a team who has shown the best display of sportsmanship throughout Varsity 2017.


Men’s Rugby

Fundraising Club of the Year

This award recognises a club that has created the most fundraising events and opportunities for RAG and other charities.



Performance of the Year

This award recognises a team or individual that had the best, outstanding performance throughout the year.


Women’s Rugby 1’s

Team of the Year

This award recognises a team that has achieved an outstanding result or range of results during the academic year.


Cricket Mens 1st

Most Improved Club of the Year

This award recognises a club that has shown the most significant improvement over the last year.


Mens Football

Outstanding Contribution (Students’ Union)

Will be awarded to an individual who has gone above and beyond in their role, working closely with the Sports Development Team and partners including NGBs and The Union.


Karis Pavey (AU RAG)

Outstanding Contribution (Sport and Recreation)

This award goes to an individual or group who has gone above and beyond in their role, working closely with the Sports Development Team, National Governing Bodies and the Athletic Union.


Cheerleading Coaches for their Contribution in Cheer-Off

Club of the Year

This award is presented to a club that has contributed to the development and promotion of sport at Portsmouth and that has made significant improvement on their status from the preceding year



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *